There are 200 single-choice questions in the PMP certification exam, including calculation questions, situation questions, and so on.

The content is the knowledge system of project management under PMI, including five process groups and ten knowledge areas of project management. It is divided into different parts base on five process groups of project management.

The proportion of the five process groups in the exam is divided as follows:

Initiation: 13%, Plan: 24%, Execution: 31%

Monitor & Control: 25%, Close: 7%.

For example:

A project team should know how to use statistical knowledge for quality control. Which of the following topics is the one that the project team needs to know most about?


  1. Sampling and probability
  2. Attribute sampling and variable sampling
  3. Tolerances and limits control
  4. Specific causes and random causes

Analysis: The answer is A. Please refer to PMBPK Guide, the 5th Edition 8.3. The project team should have statistical knowledge about the use of quality control, especially the knowledge about sampling and probability, in order to evaluate the results of quality control.

Examinees who take part in the PMP certification program are all engaged in project management or work related to project management, with no industry limit. Holders of the PMP certificate mainly work in engineering, computer information systems, communications, energy, and other engineering industries as well as the cultural industry.

The PMP exam outline is updated in June 2019 and would be used in the exam in 2020.

The changes in the new outline are as follows:

The testing dimension changes from five process groups to three major areas. That is, personnel (84 points), process (100 points), and business environment (16 points);

  • It is closer to the actual project trend;
  • It changes to focus on people instead of on doing things.
  • It has higher requirements for the soft skills of the project manager, which matches the Capability Triangle Model of PM.

Register for the SPOTO PMP training course to learn more about the PMP exam.


People who take part in PMP certification training: those engaged in work related to project management.

The content of the PMP certification exam mainly comes from the PMBOK guide, which mainly includes five project process groups and ten knowledge areas.

There are three main types of candidates applying for the PMP certification:

  1. People who are going to take part in the PMP certification exam;
  2. Senior managers and business owners of various departments of the enterprise;
  3. Project managers, project supervisors, system managers, system integration engineers, system development engineers, and project team members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here