The ESA dinner is an annual event held by the Engineering Students Association (ESA) of the University of Nairobi in October. This is a platform that ESA uses to source for funds for the annual activities, where students network with corporate and professionals in industry and where the executive committee launches the Year Plan. This year’s annual dinner was held at Sarova Stanley on 28th of October, with the theme, Innovative Engineering: Energy and Infrastructure Development.

During the dinner, Wreford Momanyi, ESA chairman reviewed the activities it has undertaken this year, which include organizing: a mentorship program at Moi Girls’ Secondary School in Nairobi, an industrial visit to Safaricom, career talks from Tullow Oil, KEBS (IEC), Safaricom, Kipya Drilling, ERC etc.

“We also intend to hold the School of Engineering Open Day in February next year (2017) and ESA tournament. ESA invites corporate and any individual to partner with us in our various activities,” stated Momanyi.

The Guest Speaker, MD Savannah Cement, Ronald Ndegwa commented on the gap that engineering students should fill in fueling the development growth of infrastructure in the country. He insisted that the university students should be leaders in innovation.

Dean, School of Engineering at University of Nairobi, Prof. Mbuthia emphasized on the need for continuous studying and taking advantage of emerging opportunities for engineering students. He also encouraged students to be part of the Dr. Musimba’s Innovative Idea Competition that is to be opened for participation later this year.
Dr. Musimba is the Member of Parliament for Kibwezi West and he has been attending ESA events. The competition gives students opportunities to come up with practical engineering solutions to challenges facing different sectors of the industry.

This year’s ESA Dinner would not have been a success without the kind and generous support of the following organizations: University of Nairobi, Tullow Oil, Savannah Cement, Tsavo Power, National Construction Authority (NCA), Association of Consulting Engineers of Kenya (ACEK), Oakar Services, Apec Limited, Citech and Architectural Association of Kenya (AAK).

We also wish to recognize the efforts of: the ESA executive committee, Prof. Peter Ngau – Principal College of Architecture and Engineering (UoN), Prof. Mwangi Mbuthia – Dean School of Engineering (UoN), Eng. Julius Riungu – CEO Tsavo Power, Ronald Ndegwa – M.D. Savannah Cement. Eng. Matu – Chairman ACEK council, Samuel Eyinda –General Manager, Intercontinental Publishers Ltd and all students in attendance.

Leave a Reply