The Deans council, comprising of Deans of Engineering faculties in Kenya met on Friday 24th February at a Nairobi Hotel to discuss the various challenges they are facing in their respective Universities and the way forward. The chair, Professor B. W. Ikua of Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture Science and Technology (JKUAT) emphasised that the solutions they craft through this committee will assist them work with their respective Chancellors/ Vice-Chancellors to achieve the mandate of the engineering faculties. Of importance was to harmonise and seek accreditation for the various courses that are not yet accredited.

The Dean’s council together with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Kenya Section Ex Com, Chaired by Eng. Martin Nzomo agreed to work together to improve the quality of exposure and research for both the teaching fraternity and students. Eng. Nzomo is the Chair of the IEEE Kenyan section. IEEE is a professional body for those in the STEM profession and its main objective is to advance technology for humanity. Some of the areas that IEEE Kenya Section proposed to the deans’ council includes joining IEEE as members, participating in writing academic papers, using IEEE digital Explore in research, participate in student competitions like Extreme, student scholarships among others. The deans were requested by the IEEE Kenya Section chair to encourage the students to join and form chapters in their respective universities.

Speaking at the meeting, Prof Karshoda, the Executive Director of Kennet, reiterated that Kennet is also committed to enhancing the quality of university education more so in faculties of engineering and ICT.  He encouraged the deans to take advantage of the various grants they offer to participate in research, conferences and writing of academic papers.

The IEEE Kenya section also held a cocktail for the dean’s council and Section Members. During the cocktail the outgoing Excom who served in 2016 handed over officially to the incoming Ex com to serve the IEEE Kenya Section in 2017.

Leave a Reply